Law Enforcement Advisory Committee

Purpose

To coordinate with the Orange County Sheriff’s Department to assess crime prevention and traffic violation control issues and to provide recommendations to enhance programs to Council.

Committee Members

The Committee consists of one (1) City Councilmember, Neighborhood Watch representative(s), supervising Sheriff Department Lieutenant, up to six (6) resident Law Enforcement professionals and one (1) resident Public Safety Responder representative. Committee Members themselves will elect the Chair and Vice-Chair.

Member Title
Term Start
Term End Email
Eric Reynolds Chair/Resident Law Enforcement Representative
01/31/2020 01/31/2022  ereynolds@villapark.org
Jay Wasserman Vice Chair/Resident Law Enforcement Representative 01/31/2020 01/31/2022 jwasserman@villapark.org
Ruben Ibarra Resident Law Enforcement Representative
01/31/2019 01/31/2021 ribarra@villapark.org
Richard Murg Resident Law Enforcement Representative
01/31/2019
01/31/2021

rmurg@villapark.org

James Hayes Resident Law Enforcement Representative
03/26/2019 01/31/2021 jhayes@villapark.org
Vacant
Resident Law Enforcement Representative
 
Tom Dodge
Public Safety Responder Representative
 01/22/2019  01/31/2021 tdodge@villapark.org
Vince Rossini
City Council Representative
 02/25/2020  12/31/2020 vrossini@villapark.org

Neighborhood Watch Representative: Wayne Silzel 

Staff Representative: City Manager, Steve Franks 

Orange County Sheriff Representative: Lt. Gary Knutson

Length of Term

City Council Committee Members shall be appointed or removed by a majority vote of the City Council annually, based on the Mayor’s recommendation, which will be provided no less than 72 hours in advance of the meeting as part of the staff report. Up to six (6) resident law enforcement professionals and one (1) resident Public Safety Responder representative shall be appointed by the City Council for a term of two years on a staggered basis. Non-council committee members shall serve at the pleasure of the City Council, and may be removed at anytime by action of the City Council. 

Meetings

Meetings no more than six times a year, unless otherwise noted.